Skip to main content

ERASMUS Universitätscharta

Erasmus University Charter (EUC) / Eligible universities

The compulsory condition for the participation of a higher education institution in Erasmus+ is the successful application for the Erasmus University Charter (EUC) or an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education 2014-2020 (ECHE) to the European Commission. This Charter entitles higher education institutions to apply for Erasmus funding from their national agencies.


The exchange of students, teachers and university staff takes place on the basis of bilateral agreements between the participating higher education institutions. Both institutions must hold a valid Erasmus+ University Charter.


Currently 32 countries are participating in the Erasmus+ program: all 28 EU Member States plus Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Turkey.


Further information is available on the website of the European Commission Executive Agency: